Skip to content

Share Your Blessings With Others

December 7, 2012

IMG_1345The holidays are a time with people come together to celebrate and count their blessings. For others in our community, it is a time when they are struggling to make ends meet. Sadly, there are tens of thousands of San Antonians who don’t know where their next meal is coming from.

Mary is 80 years old and visits the San Antonio Food Bank’s Mobile Pantry once a month to get a supplement to her food. Her husband died in 1968 and she has been on her own ever since. After he died, she worked two jobs to make ends meet. She worked for the county doing data entry and had another part-time job. She retired 12 years ago and was doing well enough to live on her own until recently. She has several medical problems and the cost of medications puts a strain on her monthly budget. The Medicare she receives only covers a part of the cost and there is little money left for food.IMG_1348

Mary shared, “I never wanted to be a burden on my three children and I try to get by on my own, but I’m at the point where I need help from them and the San Antonio Food Bank. I’m thankful I have somewhere to go when I need help.”

“I’m alive and able to spend time with my family. I know I’m struggling, but there are many who are in worse places than me. Please tell the people who make donations to the Food Bank that I say thank you! You do so much to help me every month.”

Share your blessings with others and join the San Antonio Food Bank in our mission to fight hunger and feed hope this holiday season. Donate today!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2012 3:41 pm

    Hello, SA Food Bank
    We want to recognize the amazing work you do by sharing your story with millions. We are currently running a Fight Hunger Photo Contest, where we ask nonprofits to submit one photo of themselves doing volunteer work that relates to fighting hunger. We really admire the work that you’re doing and would like to invite you to submit a photo. It’s easy, and most importantly, a great way to increase the visibility of your nonprofit. Just check out the link below.
    http://blogs.volunteermatch.org/engagingvolunteers/2012/12/14/share-your-story-by-entering-the-fight-hunger-photo-contest/
    We look forward to receiving your entry. Feel free to contact us if you have any further questions.

  2. January 1, 2013 2:33 am

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using
    for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

