Skip to content

When School is the Answer to Food

July 29, 2015
Picture 3

In San Antonio, 1 in 4 children are food insecure.

It’s back to school time and children around our community wait in anticipation to make new friends, meet new teachers and learn new things.  Many parents also await the beginning of school with hopes of reducing their stress.  Parents like Imelda, who look to school as a place for her children to not only learn, but to also eat.

Since moving to San Antonio a few years ago, Imelda’s life has seen much struggle.  Although she recently completed her certification as a medical assistant, finding a job has been difficult.  Making ends meet has been even more difficult and she relies on community programs like the San Antonio food Bank to provide for her three daughters

Her girls attend the Guadalupe Community Center, a partner agency of the Food Bank which participates in the Kids Café, an after-school program. Kids Cafes are safe, nurturing places where neighborhood children can go after school and receive a hot supper as well as help with homework from caring volunteers or staff members.  “During the school day, they eat at school and because of the Food Bank I know they will eat dinner after school, it’s one less thing I have to worry about,” she says.

Imelda says, “I don’t like being dependent on others for help. I want to work; I want to provide for my family.  I am very thankful that the Food Bank exists to help me move forward. And I am grateful that I know my girls always have food.”

Picture 2

No comments yet

Leave a comment